Analyzation of Hazing

As I read on about more and more instances of hazing, I can’t help but notice the stereotypes. When you think of hazing, what do you picture? I bet 95% of you will think of a “frat boy”, drunkenly wooping up on some innocent freshmen with a wooden paddle. Am I right?

Looking back on the numerous stories I read about hazing, Ive come to the conclusion that hazing can be anywhere and everywhere. Fraternities, sororities, football programs, womens soccer teams, band camps, there is no one common denominator.

It may be because I am part of the Greek community myself, but I think the media has glorified hazing around fraternities. Trying to add a “fraternity hazing scene” into a movie for comedic relief is hardly the way we should be spreading awareness.

Hazingthe imposition of strenuous, often humiliating, tasks as part of a program of rigorous physical training and initiation….Is initiation worth the humiliation? What can you do to spread the word.

Leave a comment